Stations of the cross

Stations of the Cross

For Catholics throughout the world, the Stations of the Cross are synonymous with Lent, Holy Week and especially, Good Friday. This devotion is also known as the "Way of the Cross", the "Via Crucis", and the "Via Dolorosa." It commemorates 14 key events on the day of Christ's crucifixion. The majority concern his final walk through the streets of Jerusalem, carrying the cross.

The Stations originated in medieval Europe when wars prevented Christian pilgrims from visiting the Holy Land. European artists created works depicting scenes of Christ's journey to Calvary. The faithful installed these sculptures or paintings at intervals along a procession route, inside the parish church or outdoors. Performing the devotion meant walking the entire route, stopping to pray at each station.

Today, images of the Stations [or simple crosses representing them] are on display in almost all Catholic churches. They serve mainly as a focus for Lenten services. But the Stations can also be performed privately, at any time of the year, even at home. Stations of the Cross take place at 4.00 pm on Sunday.


The fourteen Stations are as follows.  

1st Jesus is condemned to death. 

2nd Jesus is made to carry his cross.

3rd Jesus falls for the first time. 

4th Jesus meets his sorrowful Mother. 

5th Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry his cross. 

6th Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.                        

7th Jesus falls the second time. 

8th The women of Jerusalem weep for Jesus. 

9th Jesus falls for the third time.

10th Jesus is stripped of his garments. 

11th Jesus is nailed to the cross.

12th Jesus is raised up on the cross and dies.

13th Jesus is taken down from the cross and placed in his Mothers arms.

14th Jesus is laid in the tomb.


For every Station you pray the following prayer and genuflect:                                                  

"We adore you, O Christ, and we praise you."          

Response is: "Because by your Holy Cross you have redeemed the world."                                

Followed by a prayer and a scripture quotation.                                                                                     

Plus Our Father etc, Hail Mary etc, Glory be to the Father, etc.