Parish Council

The Council exists to support the parish priest to do his job by studying and reflecting on some aspect of the church referred to the Council and recommending its conclusions to the parish priest. This supporting role is important because under Canon law the parish priest alone is responsible for all decisions concerning the running of his parish. This burden can be materially lightened by engaging the skills, advice and assistance of parishioners. Our parish council provides that assistance.

Parish Councils are not obligatory. Canon law says that their purpose is the "fostering" of "pastoral activity". Thus our Council has no authority to impose its recommendations; it has a consultative role only.

Our Council consists of the priests and deacon; three ex officio members- Chairman, vice-chairman and secretary who are appointed by the parish priest - and seven members elected by parishioners, the intention being that the number of elected members equals the number of non-elected members. Membership is limited to three years. A copy of the constitution of our Council is available from the Parish Office. Draft minutes of the last meeting are available from the porch or by enquiring in the church office.

Questions and suggestions relating to the parish may be addressed to the Council via the Chair - email:


Parish Council

PPC Members